The scarecrows are back!

Some good news for once

yippee ki yi yay

yippee ki yi yay

by Bethany M. Dunbar              October 16, 2009

The scarecrows are back.  I’m not exactly sure why I find this story so completely fascinating except it seems like a small triumph of kindness over crappiness.

So I went back and slogged through a lot of really wet grass to get a lot more photos, which you will see posted here for posterity.  I don’t think I photographed all the scarecrows but I did get a lot of them.

One idea I got from an e-mail was that maybe next year, Barton can develop the whole scarecrow thing into a theme or a contest and possibly even make some events around it.  Wouldn’t that be fun?

The background on the story is this:  Last week Karen and Brian Chaffee put up something like 38 scarecrows along Route 5 between Barton and Orleans.  I covered this story for the Chronicle, but just after I took some pictures the scarecrows were taken down.  It seems some twerp had shot the hunter scarecrow and burned the soldier scarecrows, and the Chaffees were nervous that more damage might be done by leaving them up.

But Karen said she had so many phone calls (about 90) she felt that she just had to put them back up for everyone.  So far they seem soggy but fairly undamaged.  Yay!  Karen mentioned that Donna Bousquet of Irasburg gets credit for painting the faces, and that she did all of them in about an hour.  Now that’s some speedy talent.

Daisy, Daisy, give me an answer do.  I'm half crazy, all for the love of you!  It won't be a stylish marriage, I can't afford a carriage.  But you'll look sweet, upon the seat, of a bicycle built for two!

Daisy, Daisy, give me an answer do. I'm half crazy, all for the love of you! It won't be a stylish marriage, I can't afford a carriage. But you'll look sweet, upon the seat, of a bicycle built for two!

Boo!

Boo!

A faithful volunteer

A faithful volunteer

Staying dry

Staying dry

Ready for a square dance

Ready for a square dance

Only nine more shopping weeks to go

Only nine more shopping weeks to go

Ready for any hair emergency

Ready for any hair emergency

An invisible scarecrow, now that's frightening

An invisible scarecrow, now that's frightening

How cute is that?

How cute is that?

No bunny slopes for her.

No bunny slopes for her.

He ain't nothin but a houn' dog.

He ain't nothin but a houn' dog.

happy sm

Thank you to the troops and their families.

Thank you to the troops and their families.

skeleton sm

The breezes get kind of stiff up here in the Northeast Kingdom sometimes.

The breezes get kind of stiff up here in the Northeast Kingdom sometimes.

One response to “The scarecrows are back!

  1. Oh yay! I am so excited that they have returned. I am glad that I’ll be able to get a chance to check them out! Thank you so much to the Chaffees! It’s a real treat for everyone.

    ~Katie

Leave a Reply

