What are you thankful for?

by Bethany M. Dunbar, November 27, 2009

I’m thankful for the newspapers and dairy farms still in business in Vermont.  I’m thankful that I learned how to milk a cow by hand and how to type on a typewriter.

I’m thankful for my boyfriend, Jim, who keeps me grounded and makes Cleveland a fun place to go.  I’m thankful for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and some really nice hikes in the Cuyahoga National Park.

I’m thankful for my parents, who are in their eighties and still in good health.

I’m thankful for my kids, who are in their twenties and still a handful sometimes.

I’m thankful for all the rest of my crazy, wonderful family and friends.

I’m thankful for warm November weather, even though it’s weird.

I’m thankful for a pumpkin cheesecake recipe and turkey and cranberries and mashed potatoes.

I’m thankful for a big yellow Labrador retriever who is so happy to see me when I get home that he does aerial corkscrews.

I’m thankful for an extra day off today — on Friday.

I’m thankful for the Turkey Trot in Barton and all the people who do it.  I’m thankful that I knew Missy White who the whole thing is in memory of.  I’m thankful for all those T-shirts, even though I didn’t sign up early enough to get one this year.  I’m thankful for the gorgeous wreath I won in the drawing at the end.  (see the header photo)

I’m thankful for the sight of the sharp, white marsh hawk; stars in a black sky; the warm fur on my horse’s neck; the sound of wind with no wind towers in it; the smells of hay and clean leather.

What are you thankful for?  Something big?  Something little?  Leave me a comment, I’d love to hear about yours.  I’m thankful that you are reading this right now and thankful for your comments!

6 responses to “What are you thankful for?

  1. I am thankful for November. I wrote the following poem a couple of weeks ago.

    A Certain Ebb

    It is surely November here at the farm.
    Some may say that November is neither an autumn month
    nor a winter month.
    Perhaps it is the twilight zone of months
    in the north country.
    Some may say it is a month where beauty has departed.
    I think not.

    I love the russet colors of pastures and hayfields,
    trees without leaves – skeletons with many arms lifted skyward,
    crunchy echoes of footfalls on frozen leaves,
    first ice on the pond,
    first dusting of snow,
    one’s breath vaporizing into the cool air,
    sound of wood crackling in the old Crawford cookstove,
    aroma of hot cross buns in the oven,
    the strong morning sun casting an early glow over the meadow.

    There is a certain ebb to the seasons
    when November arrives.
    Autumn colors have waned,
    mornings begin with window frost,
    geese have departed
    and winter is lurking behind the hills.

    The wood has been stacked,
    shutters are on,
    the to-do list has been chipped away …
    this time of year, I’m usually in recuperatio modus.

    It is also a time for contemplation,
    for renewal, for reprieve,
    a time to look outward and inward
    and to discover, once again,
    the beauty without and within —
    the beauty of one’s surroundings.

    Jerry Johnson

  2. I am also thankful for Pete the Moose.

    Of Moose and Man

    There’s a moose whose home is in Irasburg,
    Many folks are concerned for his life.
    As he roams behind fenced in quarters,
    He is happy and should never face strife.

    David Lawrence and Pete are buddies —
    A love story between man and beast.
    David is Pete’s Saint Francis of Assisi
    Here in the Kingdom Northeast.

    Pete the Moose has gathered attention
    From near and from faraway.
    While most folks are rooting for Pete’s life,
    There are a few who think he must pay …

    Pay with his life, they put forward,
    A moose with elk shouldn’t be roaming.
    Shoot Pete the Moose with a gun
    And ship all the elk to Wyoming!

    It is time to leave Pete alone,
    Where he’s safe and should live out his life.
    As he roams behind fenced in quarters,
    He is happy and should never face strife.

    Jerry Johnson
    Creek Road Poet
    http://www.VTPoet.com

  3. I am thankful for Bethany Dunbar’s photos and wish she had a web site with some of her best work.

  4. I’m thankful for having you as family member, because you rock! And Jim also. He is pretty special.
    Have a wonderful Holiday season, and let’s start planning a get together soon.
    Jeff

  5. Hey Jeff, you rock too! I’m looking at your gorgeous Bailey Island photo right now. It looks pretty good even while I’m in a turkey-induced semi-coma. (not to be confused with a semi-comma which doesn’t even exist)

    Thanks Phil! I am planning to put more photo galleries up on this site in the near future.

  6. I’m thankful that after 33 years, I can log on to my best-friend-from-high-school’s blog and relate to it, even though we have lived completely different lives.

Leave a Reply

